Search the site

RICS New Presidential Team

publication date: Sep 8, 2011
Download Print
See Lian Ong, RICSRICS has announced the inauguration of its new presidential team, with See Lian Ong (right) replacing the outgoing Robert Peto as President for 2011/12.

Alan Collett (below) will take office as President Elect, while Michael Newey (bottom right) has been appointed Senior Vice President. The inauguration also marks the appointment of Louise Brooke-Smith, Martin Bruehl and Chris Fossick as Vice Presidents.

Alan Collett, RICSIn addition, Bill Gater has replaced Alex Baird as RICS Honorary Treasurer and Rob Mahoney will continue in his role of RICS Honorary Secretary.

Elections for the new presidential team were held at the RICS Governing Council Meeting in March. The successful candidates will now set about leading the development of the organisation’s global vision and strategy, along with the 60-strong Governing Council.

Michael Newey, RICSRICS President See Lian Ong said, “I am extremely honoured to be inaugurated as the 130th President of the RICS and the first non-British President of the Institution. My inauguration speaks loud and clear of RICS’ commitment to delivering the highest standards in land, property and construction within a global context.

“During my tenure I will look to build on the tremendous work of my predecessor, Robert Peto. I will also work with Governing Council to focus the organisation’s energies on developing and maintaining standards in the areas where the public demand them most; including construction cost and carbon measurement, programme management, valuation, agency and brokerage, strategic asset management and land markets.”
RICS Presidential Team for 2011/12:

• RICS President, See Lian Ong KMN, BSc (Hons), PPISM, FISM, FRICS, ICECA
• RICS President Elect, Alan Collett BSc FRICS
• RICS Senior Vice President, Michael Newey BSc FRICS FCIH MAHI
• RICS Vice President, Louise Brooke-Smith BSc (Hons) DipTP FRICS MRTPI
• RICS Vice President, Martin Bruehl BSc (Hons) FRICS
• RICS Honorary Secretary, Robert P Mahoney FRICS FBCartS
• RICS Honorary Treasurer, Bill Gater FRICS ACIArb